Red Curry Chicken Kebabs

red curry chicken kabobs

Recipe: Red Curry Chicken Kebabs

Makes : 4 servings | Main Dishes Dairy Free Print
I use Thai Kitchen red curry paste, which is gluten free and readily available, for this recipe. The curry paste is super flavorful, though not particularly spicy; two tablespoons makes sense to me, but you can add more or less to suit your taste.

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut milk (stir well before measuring)
  • 2 tablespoons gluten-free red curry paste
  • 2 teaspoons brown sugar
  • 2 teaspoons fish sauce
  • 1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons vegetable oil, plus more for oiling grill
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • Lime wedges, for serving
  • Wooden skewers, soaked in water for 15 minutes (or use metal skewers)

Instructions

  • In a small bowl, whisk together the coconut milk, curry paste, brown sugar, and fish sauce. Put the chicken cubes in a glass baking dish or a gallon-size ziplock back and toss them with the marinade. Marinate the chicken in the refrigerator for at least four hours.
  • Heat the grill to moderate heat. Remove the chicken from the marinade and wipe off the excess. (A bit of marinade can remain, but if there's too much liquid the chicken will steam.) Thread the chicken onto the skewers, leaving a bit of space between the pieces so they cook evenly. Rub the oil over the chicken and then sprinkle the salt over it. Put the skewers on an oiled grill grate and cook, turning once, until just done, about 6 minutes. Serve with a squeeze of fresh lime juice.
  • Variations: Substitute 1-inch cubes of pork tenderloin or salmon for the chicken. Or marinate cubes of red bell pepper, zucchini, or pineapple, along with the chicken. Alternate them with the chicken on the skewers.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment

  1. Looks delicious! And we have chicken breasts that need some love… We might make this dish this weekend!

  2. Tate says:

    Aren’t most curry paste gluten free?

    • laura says:

      Most Thai curry pastes should be gluten free–chiles, herbs, spices, and aromatics–but always check the label to be sure. Japanese curry pastes, also known as curry roux, are not gluten free. These usually come in a pouch containing a mix of curry powder, flour, and oil.

  3. Tiffany says:

    Thanks for this info! Is all coconut milk gluten free?

    • laura says: (Author)

      I have never seen coconut milk that had gluten in it, but that said, you should always read the label. Most should just have some form of coconut, water, maybe guar gum.

  4. Tiffany says:

    Which brands of fish sauce are gluten free? I live in Mexico City and the only brand we have here is Squid. Do you know if that is gluten free?

    • laura says: (Author)

      I believe Squid brand only contains anchovy, water, and salt, which would make it gluten free. Just check the label to make sure it doesn’t have hydrolyzed wheat protein.

Trackbacks for this post

Leave a Comment